That Writing Thing

Note: I tried posting this a few days ago, but, apparently something went wrong or I did something wrong or…something. The post ended up being blank. I do want to thank the person that did like it, even though there was nothing there but a title. Thank you for the support! So here’s the post that was supposed to be there. Enjoy!

I love to write. I really do. I’m just lazy. I mean I do get things done, at work and at home. But I’m lazy about getting writing done and, with blog posts, getting them published, as evidenced by the lack of all of the wonderful posts that I promised to write here. Despite that, I do love to write.

The only class I’ve ever taken that involved writing basically involved the teacher giving us prompts and telling us what kind of writing it had to be, such as a poem or short story. So I guess you could say that I never really learned how to write…which honestly is a little funny. So on the one hand it’s good because I don’t have the constraints that a formal class would have left in my head, but then I’m sure there are things about writing that I probably need to know that I don’t.

For example, I mostly write poetry. I can’t say that I really have a style of my own. I don’t know much about meter so I don’t follow any kind of meter style (is it a style?). I do try to make my poetry flow well for the reader, but I’m not even sure that’s something that needs to be taught. I don’t know anything about the structure of poems…do they have a structure? So does my lack of knowledge hinder my poetry and how good it is? Does any of that even matter in the scheme of things?

Recently, I’ve had trouble getting any writing done, so I made a deal with my boyfriend. He would give me an “assignment,” such as writing an 8 line poem, or something that has to be in the poem. The present assignment is a short story, which is something I haven’t done in…maybe a little over 20 years. And during this assignment, as well as all of the previous ones, I’ve learned a lot about myself as a writer.

First things first, I don’t always have a plan when writing. Blog posts are different though I don’t really plan how it goes, so much as just what the topic will be. Most…of not all of the time, I just start writing and it just comes out. With poetry, I usually just begin with a line and just go from there. The exception to this is that I have two, possible book ideas going and I have been trying to plan those out. But most of the time it’s just spur of the moment things that come out of my head. As you can imagine, that makes it hard to end some things. Poetry is easy to end…this short story I’m working on, not so much. I don’t think this is how the majority of writers do it, but I’ve figured out that I’m a little bit weird in a lot of ways and this is just one of them.

Secondly, I’m not a huge fan of editing. Oh sure I’ll do it and have done, but it’s usually just a line or two in a poem. Most of what I do is that I’ll write a poem and sort of edit as I go. Once I get to the end, it’s done and I leave it be. Since I’ve been writing more and have the boyfriend read the stuff I write, I’ve had to become friends with editing and it’s been a tough road. So if you see an error in one of my posts, bear with me because I’m still trying to come to terms with this editing thing. (Gah! I just edited the paragraph before this one! What is this world coming to?!)

Have you heard that most writers will write for a few hours a day? My boyfriend has said that he does this. They all say that they’ll just sit down and write for an hour, or hell, 8 hours a day! I suppose professional writers do that, or maybe have to really. For most of my time writing, I haven’t been able to do that. It’s just been recently that I’ve just sat down and made myself write. Before, I would just get inspired and THEN start to write. I always saw sitting down and making myself write as forcing it and I would get blocked when I would try to do that. Thankfully, that has changed just in the last few months or so and it’s been such a wonderful change!

Lastly, as I said earlier, I do love to write. It’s mostly for my own enjoy, though I have dreams of publishing one day. I like to entertain people but being an introvert, being in front of people is hard! So writing is my way of doing that without people staring at me. I mean I tried acting a million years ago in school, but I have such horrible stage fright! Seriously, I either almost or actually threw up before performances. So writing it is!

I suppose my final thoughts on this would be similar to my thoughts on anything else: Whatever you’re doing…as long as it’s legal…enjoy it. If it’s not the usual way people do it, don’t worry about it! It’s your thing so do it your way.

Leave a Reply

