A Day without a Computer

Computers have been around for a long time now. They had their start as the big, room-sized monsters and have shrunk over the years. Now we can carry them around in our pockets in the form of the smart phone. We use computers every day, coming to rely on them for many things and younger people don’t really remember a time without them. Hell, I barely remember that time myself and I’m in my late 30s!

So what do you do when you’re without a computer of any kind for a day? Or even half a day?!

Well I had to figure that out for myself on last Thursday. Our computers were down for about a half a day and, since the majority of my job revolves around the computer, I had to find other stuff to do…or end of being bored or dozing off.

So it got me thinking, if you’re at home and you don’t have your computer for smart phone for just half a day, what would you do?

Just like a lot of people, I play a few games on my phone and even will do so while I’m watching TV. I’ve gotten so used to it that it’s weird when I watch a movie and don’t play on my phone at the same time. I know it’s not really a great quality but I guess you could say I’m addicted….I’m not proud of it but it is what it is.

When my boyfriend and I are talking, we sometimes stumble onto something that neither of us knows details of or the specific definition of, so one of us will pull out our phone and look it up. I think this is one of the great things about having a “pocket computer.” In small ways, they help to increase our knowledge any moment of the day.

I have a certain fruit related kind of phone which has an app for e-books…which I have taken advantage of. It’s just pretty convenient to order a book on there instead of going to the book store (though I will be going back to paper books…I miss them a lot).

But then if it happened to you, if you were without a computer or a smart phone, what would you do?

Leave a Reply

