Epiphany or Just a Final Decision?

I’ve had a weight problem for years, and I mean the majority of my life. And for years, I’ve wanted to lose weight and become healthier but there’s always been some excuse, or I’ll say, “I’ll start at the beginning of the month.” Recently I thought I’d start at the beginning of the year. That stipulation was mostly to make it easier for me to keep track of when I “started” because, honestly, my memory isn’t that good. There really was always an excuse.

 

The last couple of days, I’ve had it on my mind again, that I need to start eating more healthy meals than I already do and I need to start exercising. I am quite overweight and it’s just a huge problem (no pun intended). And I’ve realized that I don’t actually need that special start date; I just need to get started.

 

I’m tired of being overweight. I’m tired of paying more for clothes and even having problems finding clothing in my size. I’m tired of looking in the mirror and seeing all the rolls and the extra all over. And I’m tired of being diabetic.

 

Ok, I know that just because I start eating better and lose weight that I might not ever reverse my diabetes. I know that I’ll probably always have to take medication for it but I feel like there’s always a possibility that I could control my blood sugar with just my diet and exercise. At least I can have hope in that area.

 

Now I’ve heard it all before, that you should love yourself just the way you are, overweight body and all. I even follow a woman in Instagram that promotes body positivity. And sure, that’s a great idea, but what if you DON’T like what you see? I don’t want to be stick thin, just average and curvy.

 

So I decided that today is the day. Of course, I know I’ll have to start slow with exercising since I really haven’t done any in a long time, but at least I will be starting.

Leave a Reply

