Lorna Doones and a Diet Coke

Hello, everyone. My name is Rachel and I’m a sugar-holic. And a diabetic. I actually haven’t had any real sugar in months, but I crave it every day. Sometimes I think that I indulge just this once, just have one of whatever it is that I’m craving, that it’ll be ok and I’ll stop thinking about it for a while. That would never happen.

A character on a TV show once said that an alcoholic doesn’t want just one drink, they want 10. Or that that’s how it ends up. That’s how it is with me and any kind of sugary snack. It’s always been that way for me.

So sugar substitute. I’m not sure if it’s an better than real sugar…I’ve heard things. But it’s better for me than going cold turkey. Have you ever tried to give something up cold-turkey? It’s hard as hell! At first, you can really tell the difference. There’s a wierd taste with most of the sugar substitutes. But when you have to get used to it, you do. Pretty soon, you can’t tell anymore.

Most people that it’s not just sugar that’s against diabetics. Carbs are also a big problem. I also love past and bread. They’re just as much of a weakness for as the sugar…maybe more so. I think that I would be ok with never touching sugar again, as long as I could have all the bread and pasta I want. Yeah, that would be awesome.

Alas, it is not meant to be. In all seriousness, it’s a long, hard road, but it’s something that is very necessary for those of us that are diabetic. If you know something who is, please support them the best that you can, but don’t make them feel bad for wanting to have a piece of bread, that sugary snack, or something else that they don’t need. Remind them that it is bad for them and that they’ll be better in the long run to put it down and have something else.

Do you have a food allergy or some other dietary restriction? How have you dealt with it?

Leave a Reply

